July 16, 2021 IndustryMembership

Past IWA President Helmut Kroiss receives Prechtl Medal from Vienna UT

© Thomas Blazina / Vienna University of Technology

Helmut Kroiss IWA President 2014-2016 and Professor Emeritus at Vienna University of Technology, has been awarded the Prechtl Medal for his commitment to river basin management in the Danube catchment area as well as his commitment to international cooperation and his numerous scholarly publications on the subject of water management. The Prechtl Medal is awarded for significant achievements in the fields of engineering and natural sciences as well as architecture.

Throughout his academic career, Helmut cultivated an interest for water supply, wastewater treatment and water protection & management. As a member of the International Water Quality Association (IWQA) since 1974, Helmut Kroiss served on IWA leadership as Chairman of the Programme Committee and on the Board of Directors. He was also Chairman of the IWA Publishing Committee and former Editor-in-Chief of Water Science and TechnologyWater Science and Technology: Water Supply and Water Practice and Technology. For 8 years, he was Chairman of the Large Waste Treatment Plant Specialist Group. In 2014, Helmut Kroiss was elected President at the World Water Congress and Exhibition in Lisbon. A year after his term ended, he was appointed Distinguished Fellow of the Association.

Cover picture © Thomas Blazina / Vienna University of Technology